Project 3 Maria Kapajeva

Her images are very staged as suggested in one of her titles e.g. a Constructed Encounter.

The series portrait of the artist is a substituted self absented way of presenting herself, by using models posing as herself. She is the least exhibitionist of all the artists I have looked at in this part of the course and is still one that is making the case for femininity.

There is some of her work I do not like such as, I am a usual woman. Whilst I understand the principles behind the work and agree with it too, the work appears almost child like and I do not feel fully represents women. May be this is what she wanted us think.

Her images are all about the story and are not necessarily the most beatify images to look at. They are nothing like the work of Sally Mann, whose work I adore.

I am glad I have come across Maria’s work and will revisit it at some stage, but at the minute I am happy to move on.

Leave a Reply

