Project 1 Gillian Wearing

Well, it’s nice to see an artist that keeps her clothes on!

In saying that she actually abandons her skin in one of her projects, “masks” to reflect her own take own family portraiture and as she is in the shot, adding a strange twist to the self-portrait.

Gillian Wearing is not just a photographer, she is an accomplished artist and adds and thought-provoking take on portraiture.

Masks gives me an uneasy feeling that I believe stems from my childhood whilst watching Hammer horror films as I remember one that appears similar to this piece of work. I just don’t like the masks although I acknowledge this is a good way to express portraiture. It is not a unique way of doing this as another component of masks was Claude Cahun, who die in 1954. They both as the question who am I and question their identity and that of others.

Leave a Reply

