Course driven exercise

Please note that the following poem has been written by myself as I felt the need to do so, given my chosen subject and my interest in the topic. The topic will be further developed and form part of my assignment. My thoughts on my next assignment have changed as this will become apparent as I type up my blog.

 

Ignorance is not bliss.

 

Auschwitz is a place like no other.

The senseless killing,

of many a father, son, daughter and mother.

Around the place, sounds and nature can be described as dull.

Not surprising really,

with murder and torture enjoyed to the full.

The immense fields,

that were once wet, pleasant and green.

It’s hard to imagine the cruelty,pain and suffering they have seen.

It’s wrong for this place to remain unseen,

and for anyone to be a holocaust denier.

To be one of those,

simply means you are a heartless liar.

How can I know,

well I’ve seen it and I’ve been there?

Now,

with all my heart I really care.

God Bless the victims,

and grant their souls the rest they need.

It must never be allowed to happen again.

WE MUST ALL TAKE HEED.

 

Having written this poem myself I have read it over and over. It conjures up the sad faces of the victims, gaunt, starved, batter, bruised, defeated and dehumanised. These faces and people were also unseen by the world for years, even they we knew what was going on in the KLs. (KL is the official designation for the concentration camp. It stands for Konzentrationslager)

The incarcerated were treated as inhuman and the person inside was nearly always unseen.

The camp was once so full, of the living, the living dead and the dead. Now it is full of souls and full of emptiness, but there is hope. 2 million visitors attended the museum in 2016 and there are signs of life coming back. There are birds there and some wild flowers and other signs of wildlife. However the emerging signs of life feel somewhat dulled and empty.

I have chosen to portray only four images for this exercise as I am going to use a number of images from my set for my assignment.

The images will assist in the telling of the story and there are many more that could be used. For me, in my opinion less is more with this exercise, given my chosen subject. They are all poignant, they all add to the context and contribute to the narrative in the poem.

the unveiling of St John-8
Ikonick symbol of Nazism
the unveiling of St John-15
Even orphans were murdered
the unveiling of St John-14
Portable gallows
the unveiling of St John-13
Reflections of the Holocaust

 

 

Leave a Reply

